Memorandum COUNTY



Date:	May 10, 2022
То:	Chair and Members Art in Public Places Trust
From:	Michael Spring, Director Department of Cultural Affairs
Subject:	Trust Resolution No. APPT 22-18 / MSC Miami Cruise Terminal / Artist Proposal Contracts

Trust Resolution No. APPT 22-18

RESOLUTION APPROVING PROPOSAL CONTRACTS IN SUBSTANTIALLY THE FORM ATTACHED WITH THE FOLLOWING SIXTEEN (16) ARTISTS AND FIVE (5) ALTERNATES IN THE NOT-TO-EXCEED FEE AMOUNTS AS DESCRIBED BELOW FOR EACH ARTIST:

	Recommended Artist	Proposal Fee
1	Jose Alvarez (D.O.P.A)	\$1,500.00
2	Studio Miguel Arzabe LLC	\$1,500.00
3	Sebastien Courty	\$1,500.00
4	Francesca De Mattio	\$1,500.00
5	Teresita Fernandez	\$1,500.00
6	Cayetano Ferrer	\$1,500.00
7	Mark Fleuridor	\$1,500.00
8	Hugh Hayden	\$1,500.00
9	Loni Johnson	\$1,500.00
10	Ned Kahn	\$1,500.00
11	Tamara Kostianovsky	\$1,500.00
12	Danielle Roney	\$1,500.00
13	Lauren Shapiro LLC	\$1,500.00
14	Jennifer Steinkamp, LTD	\$1,500.00
15	Mika Tajmina	\$1,500.00
16	JM Valdes Arts LLC	\$1,500.00
Alternates in order of preference & scope		
1	Rob Wynne – General	

2	Charley Geffen Friedman – General	
3	Emmett Russell Lott Moore – Carpet & Terrazzo	
4	Elaine R Defibaugh – Light-based	
5	James Carpenter Design Associates Inc. – Light-based	
	Combined Total Expenditure:	\$24,000.00

FOR A COMBINED TOTAL EXPENDITURE AMOUNT NOT-TO-EXCEED \$24,000.00 FOR THE MSC-AA AND AAA TERMINAL PROJECTS AT PORTMIAMI (FROM PORTMIAMI – MSC TERMINALS PUBLIC ART FUND).

Recommendation

It is recommended that the Art in Public Places Trust approve Proposal Contracts in substantially the form attached with the following sixteen (16) artists and five (5) alternates in the not-to-exceed fee amounts as described below for each artist:

	Recommended Artist	Proposal Fee
1	Jose Alvarez (D.O.P.A)	\$1,500.00
2	Studio Miguel Arzabe LLC	\$1,500.00
3	Sebastien Courty	\$1,500.00
4	Francesca De Mattio	\$1,500.00
5	Teresita Fernandez	\$1,500.00
6	Cayetano Ferrer	\$1,500.00
7	Mark Fleuridor	\$1,500.00
8	Hugh Hayden	\$1,500.00
9	Loni Johnson	\$1,500.00
10	Ned Kahn	\$1,500.00
11	Tamara Kostianovsky	\$1,500.00
12	Danielle Roney	\$1,500.00
13	Lauren Shapiro LLC	\$1,500.00
14	Jennifer Steinkamp, LTD	\$1,500.00
15	Mika Tajmina	\$1,500.00

16	JM Valdes Arts LLC	\$1,500.00	
Alternates in order of preference & scope			
1	Rob Wynne – General		
2	Charley Geffen Friedman – General		
3	Emmett Russell Lott Moore – Carpet & Terrazzo		
4	Elaine R Defibaugh – Light-based		
5	James Carpenter Design Associates Inc. – Light-based		
	Combined Total Expenditure:	\$24,000.00	

For a combined total expenditure amount not-to-exceed \$24,000.00 for the MSC-AA and AAA Terminal projects at PortMiami.

Background

A meeting of the Professional Advisory Committee (PAC) convened on April 21, 2022 with the purpose of reviewing artist qualifications for the new MSC Miami Cruise Terminals at PortMiami. The cruise terminals, also known as the AA and AAA Terminal projects will be prominently located on the easternmost site of the Port; these will be the last terminals viewed by every departing cruise ship and the first terminals seen by every returning ship. The terminal building and adjoining parking garage will be Miami's largest cruise ship terminal with the capacity to service 3 ship berths and process 36,000 passengers daily.

Artists were invited to propose large-scale light-based artwork(s) that would transform the interior of the terminal to create a dynamic scene in the evening and be prominently visible from the adjacent MacArthur Causeway. Light and time-based mediums were also encouraged to include video projection mapping, screen-based artworks, or sculptural fixture-based artworks. The Call to Artists envisioned that proposed artworks reflect themes of marine life, water, and ecological conservation. Additional public art opportunities included artist-designed terrazzo flooring at key zones of the terminal, site-specific design(s) for customized commercial carpeting in passenger areas, and art installations on specified walls that could seamlessly integrate with the planned architectural acoustic system.

After careful review and discussion of the 220 applications received for this National Call to Artists, the PAC unanimously recommended the invitation of the following sixteen (16) artists and five (5) alternates in order of priority and scope to develop proposals for this new PortMiami project:

- 1. Jose Alvarez (D.O.P.A) / (Miami-based)
- 2. Miguel Arzabe
- 3. Sebastien Courty
- 4. Francesca De Mattio
- 5. Teresita Fernandez
- 6. Cayetano Ferrer

- 7. Mark Fleuridor (Miami-based)
- 8. Hugh Hayden
- 9. Loni Johnson
- 10. Ned Kahn
- 11. Tamara Kostianovsky
- 12. Danielle Roney

13. Lauren Shapiro (Miami-based)

14. Jennifer Steinkamp

15. Mika Tajmina 16. Juana Valdes

Alternates in order of priority and scope:

- 1. Rob Wynne General
- 2. Charley Friedman General
- 3. Emmett Moore Carpet & Terrazzo (Miami-based)
- 4. Elaine Defibaugh Light-based
- 5. James Carpenter Design Associates Inc.- Light-based

APP staff recommends approval of Trust Resolution APPT No. 22-18 authorizing Proposal Contracts in substantially the form attached with the above sixteen (16) artists and five (5) alternates, each in the fixed fee amount of \$1,500.00, for proposal development services for the new MSC Miami Cruise Terminal project for a combined not-to-exceed expenditure amount of \$24,000.00.