MIAMI-DADE ART IN PUBLIC PLACES (APP) PROFESSIONAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE (PAC) MEETING MINUTES

Tuesday, January 25, 2022 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM (EST)

PROFESSIONAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE (PAC) MEMBERS

Claire Breukel, Independent Curator
Dejha Carrington, Vice President Strategic Communications, National YoungArts
Foundation; Co-Founder, Commissioner
Jason Tapia, Founder & Principal, Building Center No. 3

AUTHORITY, PROJECT SITES, PHASE

 MIAMI-DADE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION AND PUBLIC WORKS (DTPW), SOUTH DADE TRANSIT CORRIDOR, ARTIST QUALIFICATIONS

LOCATION

Zoom Online Meeting

ATTENDEES

Yonathan Benarroch
Genevieve Cave-Hunt
Angel Chavarria
Gustavo Concha
OHL-USA
OHL-USA

Manny Garcia SRS Engineering

Rakeshpal Gill DTPW
Sandi-Jo Gordon APP Trust
Alex Gorgas DTPW
Yusimy Lara APP Intern

Bianca Gonzalez LoCicero APP

Mercedes Lopez Cisneros APP Trust

Ben Melendez Perez & Perez Architects

Ana Meza APP
Massam Moubayed DTPW

Daniel Perez-Zarraga Perez & Perez Architects

Patricia Romeu APP Amanda Sanfilippo Long APP

Michael Spring Department of Cultural Affairs

Miguel Torres HNTB

Michael Spring, Director, Department of Cultural Affairs called the meeting to order at 10:00 AM on Tuesday, January 25, 2022.

SOUTH DADE TRANSIT CORRIDOR

Following a welcome, Amanda Sanfilippo Long, APP Curator and Artist Manager, invited self-introductions by the Professional Advisory Committee (PAC), APP team members and representatives of the client and design teams. Alex Gorgas representing DTPW invited Daniel Perez and Ben Melendez of Perez & Perez

Architects to provide an overview of the project and facilities. The South Corridor Transitway Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) program revitalizes the current 20-mile South Dade busway. Following the trajectory once occupied by the Florida East Cost Railway and running adjacent to US-1 Harriet Tubman Highway, the transitway connects the communities of the Village of Pinecrest, the Village of Palmetto Bay, the Town of Cutler Bay, unincorporated Miami-Dade County, The City of Homestead, and Florida City. The transitway will provide enhanced mobility options for these communities. The South Corridor will be a modern and dynamic bus transit line that meets the needs of the citizens of southern Miami-Dade County. As the principal visual component along the 20-mile corridor, the 14 new BRT stations will create a visual cohesiveness. The design approach will be incorporated into refurbished existing bus stations and terminal stations, as well as within the new park-and-ride garage located at SW 168th Street. The overall project is estimated to be complete in January of 2023.

Ms. Sanfilippo Long noted the opportunities for public art, highlighting that in future phases, the BRT stations may expand in size, and that artworks should be commissioned with that in mind. For the BRT stations, opportunities include but are not limited to applications to exterior areas including tile, cladding, or installation-based artwork, light-based artworks that may include video projection mapping and / or multi-media site specific installations, audio and time-based media artworks, and interactive, participatory technology-based artworks. It was noted that of the 14 BRT Stations, at least five select stations with higher degrees of municipal collaboration will be highlighted, including those within the Village of Pinecrest, Village of Palmetto Bay, Cutler Bay, Homestead, and Florida City. It is not anticipated that artworks will be commissioned at all of the BRT stations. At the park-and-ride garage, opportunities include but are not limited to artist-designed screening or cladding panels for exterior applications to the garage to address the south and east facades, and applications to the garage interior elevator lobbies and "kiss and ride" drop off area such as tile, cladding, or wall-based installations.

Ms. Sanfilippo Long next presented the two hundred and nine (209) artists who submitted qualifications from a national Call to Artists. After careful deliberation and input from the client teams, the PAC unanimously recommended the following eighteen (18) artists and three (3) alternates in order of preference, should shortlisted artists not proceed, to create full proposals:

- 1. Juana M. Valdes
- 2. Gustavo Matamoros
- 3. Karen A Rifas
- 4. Ivan Depena, Airboat Inc. dba Depena Studio
- 5. Emmett Russell Lott Moore
- 6. David I. Brooks
- 7. Erwin Redl
- 8. Leonardo Castaneda
- 9. Deborah Jack, Deborah Jack Studio LLC
- 10. Tom Scicluna, Tom Scicluna LLC
- 11. Siebren Versteeg
- 12. Asser St Val
- 13. Christopher Janney, PhenomenArts, Inc.

- 14. Monica Lopez De Victoria, Lopez De Victoria Studio LLC
- 15. Mitchell Joachim, Terreform ONE, (Submitted by Robin Stiefel)
- 16. Sergio Walter Gonzalez Vega
- 17. Orlando Estrada
- 18. Katherine Gilmore

Alternates in order of preference:

- 1. Luis Gispert, Mongrel Studios
- 2. Adler Guerrier, A Guerrier Studio LLC
- 3. Lauren Shapiro, Lauren Shapiro LLC

As represented in the Call to Artists, each artist will be paid a stipend to assist in the development of the proposal. The recommendation to commission these artists to develop proposals was approved unanimously by the PAC.

With no further business to discuss, the meeting was adjourned at 3:15 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Amanda Sanfilippo Long APP Curator and Artist Manager